Swim with us

Swimmers of all levels of swimming ability and confidence are welcome to join us.  Our coached sessions always have two lanes – faster and slower – and you can slot in the lane that suits you best.

If you’re an absolute total beginner though – you might like to go to a learn to swim class first.   (Wellington City Council runs classes for people of all ages, and we’ve also run our own from time to time.)

Swim Times

Monday, 7:30-8.30pm @ WRAC (Kilbirnie Pool)
Location: Wellington Regional Aquatic Centre
Coached session in two 25m lanes.

Thursday, 7:30-8.30pm @ WRAC (Kilbirnie Pool)
Location: Wellington Regional Aquatic Centre
Coached session in two 25m lanes.

Occasional social swims and Ocean Swimming
See the Facebook Group for details
See if anyone has posted in Facebook that they’re going to Freyberg Pool on a Sunday afternoon, or that they’re going off for an ocean swim, or put a post up yourself to say you’re going.

Exclusion Dates

These are the exclusion dates when the pool is not available due to holidays or other bookings.  We will aim to remind swimmers of these dates via Facebook.  Some sessions may be rescheduled to an alternative swim location.

2020 Exclusion dates

There will be no coached session [unless otherwise notified] on:

Mon 20 Jan (Wellington Anniversary Day)
Thu 6 Feb (Waitangi Day)
Thu 20 Feb + Mon 24 Feb (DSW @ the IGLA Melbourne swim meet)
Mon 13 April (Easter Monday)
Thu 16 April (WRAC closed for swim meet)
Mon 27 April (ANZAC Day)
Mon 1 June (Queen’s Birthday)
Mon 26 October (Labour Day)

2020 WRAC Closure: Main pool closed 6 July-30 August for maintenance:
last session at WRAC Thu 2 Jun;
first session at Thorndon Pool Mon 6 Jul 7-8pm;
last session at Thorndon Pool Thu 27 Aug 7-8pm;
first session back at WRAC Mon 31 Aug 7.30-8.30pm

2020 dates:  First swim Monday 13 January, last swim Thursday 17 December, resume Monday 11 January 2021

Up to date Kilbirnie Pool information is here: WRAC Information
and for Freyberg Pool information is here: Freyberg Information

 


Home | Swim with us | Events | About DSW | Links | Contact us